Academic Senate


Contact us at (619) 388-3578 in room A2

2015 - 2016 Academic Senate Executive Committee:

President: Berta Harris   (619)388-3877
President Elect: Justin Akers (619)388-3181
President of the Chairs Council: Jan Jarrell (619)388-3650
Secretary: Sandra Pesce   (619)388-3245
Office Secretary: Melissa Sanchez (619) 388-3578
Treasurer: Kelly Mayhew   (619) 388-3136
Adjunct Officer: Robert Lacher

San Diego City College 2015-2016  Academic Senate

Academic Senate Meeting Dates for the 2014-2015 Academic Year

Fall 2015 Academic Senate General Meetings at 2:30 in Room D121A: 9/14, 9/28, 10/12, 10/26, 11/9, 11/30, 12/14

Fall 2015 Academic Senate Executive Committee Meetings at 2:30 room A2: 8/31, 9/21, 10/5, 10/19, 11/2, 11/16, 12/1

Spring 2016 Academic Senate General Meetings at 2:30 in room D121A: 2/8, 2/22, 3/7, 3/21, 4/11, 4/25, 5/9

Spring 2016 Academic Senate Executive Committee Meetings at 2:30 room A2: 2/1, 2/16 (Tuesday), 2/29, 3/14, 4/4, 4/18, 5/2



Student Learning and Administrative Outcomes Philosophy Statement

Joint Statement of Academic Senates and AFT on SLOs


Chair: Deanna Shelton, Communications; 619-388-3182

Faculty Members: Randy Barnes; Jennifer Boots; Shana Carr; Cecilia Cheung; James Covalt; Lori Erreca; Lan Hong; Angela Inthisane; Christina Monaco; Susan Newell; Elizabeth Norvell; Robert Pruitt; Alan Rivera; Deanna Shelton; LeeAnn Taylor; Perla Vizcarra

Articulation Officer: Elizabeth Norvell

2014 - 2015 Curriculum Review Meeting Schedule
2014 - 2015 Technical Review Meeting Schedule


Chair:   Erin Engstrom

Distance Learning Committee
Chair: Gwyn Enright
Members: Marty Dare, John Mercurio, Andrea Milburn, Sandra Pesce, Marie St. George

Instructional Improvement/FLEX:
Co-Chairs: S. Fontana and M. Spradley
Members: Guillermo Alvarez, Randy Barnes, Sherry Cooper, Dotti Cordell, Susan Fontana, Salvador Gonzalez, Berta Harris, Angela Inthisane, Farnaz Khoromi, Sean Ryan, Elva Salinas, Minou Spradley, Ellen Turkel, Jeanie Tyler

Professional Development/Tenure Promotion & Review Committee
Chair:  Cathi Lopez
Members:  Y.C. Kim, A. Gum, Terri Savarese, Katie Rodda, Stephanie Robinson, Lisa Will, Virginia Escalante, Jennifer Aase, Chris Brown, Catherine Shaffer and Sheyla Castillo (Continuing Ed. Rep)

Social Courtesy:
Chair: Sylvia Leon
Members: Dotti Cordell, Sudbeh Phillips, Tandy Ward, Barbara Riva, Marilyn Harvey

Stewardship of Resources Committee
Chairs: Terry Wilson, Terri Hughes
Members: T Gallo, C Thomas, D Reed, D DiPaolo, E Heil, J Millum, M Dunsford, R Wong, W Hulgin, L Taylor, M St. George, D. Cordell, Z Nowbahari, L Forman, P McGhee, E Turkel, T Hughes-Oelrich, T Wilson, D Carter, B Sly, R Gurumurthy, K Stillson, E Engstrom, V Welch, J Feyen

Chair : Don Long
Members: Barry Hicks, Linda Ocen-Dodge; Neary Sim, Sean Ryan, Pouvan Murugesan, Rodrigo Reyes


AB 1725 Travel information

Travel Information  includes Submission and Meeting Dates  |    Conference / Travel Request Procedure

Distance Learning Committee

San Diego City College Academic Senate Departments of Membership

 At Large (Representation is Vacant)
 Behavioral Sciences - Marie St. George
 Black Studies - Darius Spearman
 Business Studies- Salley Deaton
 Business and Computer Systems - Richard Pelletier
 Chicano Studies - Alicia Lopez
 Child Development - Susie Fontana
 Consumer and Family Studies - Susie Fontana
 Cosmetology - Patricia Jones
 Counseling - Luis Perez
 Curriculum - Deanna Shelton
 Educational Cultural Complex #1 (Representation is Vacant)
 Educational Cultural Complex #2 (Representation is Vacant)
 Engineering and Technologies - Fred Julian
 English and Humanities - Patricia McGhee
 EOPS - Fred (Marty) Martin
 Foreign Languages - Phillipe Patto
 Health Exercise Services - Andrea Milburn
 History/Political Science - Sophia Lauren
 Learning Resource Center - Sandra Pesce
 Life Sciences - Mike Leboffe
 Mathematics - Brenda Gaipa
 Nursing Education - Anita Johnson
 Physical Sciences - Lisa Chaddock
 Speech Communications - Erin Engstrom
 Visual/Performing Arts - (Representation is Vacant)
Adjunct Senate School Representatives
 Arts, Humanities and Communications - Sean Bacon
 Behavioral & Social Sciences, and Consumer and Family Studies - Jessica White Magellan
 Business, Information Technology and Cosmetology - Carol Ardrey 
 Engineering & Technologies, Mathematics, Sciences and Nursing - Selene Miles
 Health, Exercise Sciences and Athletics - Alan Rivera
 Information and Learning Technologies (Representation is Vacant)
 Languages (Representation is Vacant)