League for Innovation

Congratulations to the winning entries for the 2012-2013 SDCCD League for Innovation Student Literary Competition.

Only the first place winners in each category will be moving on to the national level. The finalists will be announced on June 14th. I would like to thank the many students who took the time to enter their creative writing pieces. The district winners will be given their cash award at the City Works Reading on Wednesday, May 15 2:45-4:00 p.m. at the MS Corp Education Auditorium on C Street and 16th Street (enter on C Street).

Special acknowledgement to the faculty readers for the district level competition: Farrell Forman, Karen Lim, and Marilynn Schenk.


  • 1st place: $50 Michael Lam - A Bad Situation
  • 2nd place: $25 Kim Scullion - History Rewritten


  • 1st place: $50 Andrew Beckner - The Reynolds
  • 2nd place: $25 Jennifer Manalili - Superstitions


  • 1st place: $50 Jennifer Manalili - Fat is Not a Synonym for Ugly
  • 2nd place: $25 Jason Ford – My Background and Where I am From

One-Act Play:

  • 1st place: $50 Jennifer Manalili - Day by Day

Karen Lim
SDCCD League Student Literary Coordinator
San Diego City College
1313 Park Blvd.
San Diego, CA 92101