Flex Committee

Standing committee of Instructional Services Council

Meeting Days and Time
One meeting each month, TBA

Charge and Decision-making Responsibilities
  • Provide opportunities for faculty to maintain currency in their respective disciplines, to improve and expand their knowledge of pedagogical skills, instructional methodologies, and technological abilities, and to develop interdisciplinary approaches to classroom instruction and service delivery to students.
  • Designs, reviews, implements, and evaluates instructional improvement activities and ensures that instructional improvement activities meet the guidelines for professional development as prescribed in Title 5.
  • Makes recommendations to the Instructional Services Council at regularly scheduled meetings.

  • Membership
    Academic Senate (10): At-large, appointed by the Academic Senate
    Administration (1): Appointed by the Vice President of Instruction
    Co-Chairs: Faculty and administrative representatives




    Current Membership

    MemberTitleE-mail
    Renee KilmerInterim Vice President, Instructionrkilmer@sdccd.edu
    Elva SalinasProfessional Development Coordinatoresalinas@sdccd.edu
    Minou SpradleyDean, Engineering Technologies, Mathematics Science & Nursingmdspradl@sdccd.edu
    Jeanie TylerDirector, Off Campus Programsjtyler@sdccd.edu
    Sean RyanCoordinator, Audio Visualsryan@sdccd.edu
    Cathi LopezCounseling & Tenur/Sabbatical PD Countract Facultyclopez@sdccd.edu
    Angela TestadoAdministrative Technicianatestado@sdccd.edu
    Angel MonroyAdministrative Assistantamonroy@sdccd.edu
    Neary SimSenior Secretary, School of Behavioral & Social Sciences and Consumer & Family Studiesnsim@sdccd.edu 
    Clemente AyalaStudent Services Assistant, EOPScayala@sdccd.edu 
    Susan FontanaProfessor, Child Development; CTE; previous PD Coordinatorsfontana@sdccd.edu
    Mona AlsoramiProfessor, Englishmalsorai@sdccd.edu
    Gina BarnardProfessor, Englishgmbarnar@sdccd.edu
    Jill GreenProfessor, Child Development; CTEjgreen@sdccd.edu
    Berta HarrisProfessor, Child Development; CTEbharris@sdccd.edu
    Evette Hornsby-MinorProfessor, Black Studiesevette.minor@cox.net
    Farnaz KhoromiProfessor, Engineeringfkhoromi@sdccd.edu
    Brenda Lee LongProfessor, Mathblong@sdccd.edu
    Patricia McGheeProfessor, Englishpmcghee@sdccd.edu
    Polly ParksProfessor, Sciencepparks@sdccd.edu
    Anna RogersProfessor, English; Basic Skillsarogers@sdccd.edu
    Ellen TurkelProfessor, Health & Exercise Scienceeturkel@sdccd.edu
    Terry WilsonProfessor, Dancetwilson@sdccd.edu