Workshops


The English Center offers workshops throughout the semester on a variety of topics to assist language learners in college. We encourage students across the curriculum at S.D. City College to attend.

   
Spring 2017 Workshops: 

          English Center: L-209

Thurs, Feb. 9: 1:30-2:00 PM: Academic & Growth Mindsets with Prof. Barnard

Wed, Feb. 22: 4:00-4:30 PM: Reading Critically with Prof. Brown

Wed, Mar. 1: 4:00-4:30 PM: Developing a Paragraph with Prof. Brown

Thurs, Mar. 2: 1:00-2:00 PM: Editing Some Common ESL Writing Errors, Part I with Prof. Kovach

Thurs, Mar. 9: 1:00-2:00 PM: Eighth Edition of Modern Language Association (MLA) Style with Prof. Kovach

Thurs, Mar. 9: 2:00-2:30 PM: Writing as a Process with Prof. Barnard

Wed, Mar. 15: 4:00-4:30 PM: Issues with Sentence Structure With Prof. Brown

Wed, Mar. 22: 4:00-4:30 PM: Organizing the Essay with Prof. Brown

Thurs, Mar. 23: 1:00-2:00 PM: Editing Some Common ESL Writing Errors, Part II with Prof. Kovach

Wed, Apr. 5th 4:00-4:30 PM: Issues with Punctuation with Prof. Brown

Thurs, Apr. 6: 1:00-2:00 PM: Sixth Edition of American Psychological Association (APA) Style with Prof. Kovach

Thurs, Apr. 13: 1:00-2:00 PM: The Purpose for Punctuation with Prof. Kovach

Thurs, Apr. 13: 2:00-2:30 PM: Developing a Paragraph with Prof. Barnard

Wed, Apr. 19: 4:00-4:30 PM: Topic Sentences and Thesis Statements with Prof. Brown

Thurs, Apr. 20: 1:00-2:00 PM: Editing Some Common ESL Writing Errors, Part III with Prof. Kovach

Wed, Apr. 26: 4:00-4:30 PM: Researching and Using Sources with Prof. Brown

Thurs, Apr. 27: 1:00-2:00 PM: Works-Cited Entries in the Eighth Edition of Modern Language Association Style with Prof. Kovach

Wed, May 3: 4:00-4:30 PM: Revising and Editing with Prof. Brown

Thurs, May 11: 1:00-2:00 PM: Avoiding Some Hasty Generalizations about Punctuation with Prof. Kovach

Thurs, May 11: 2:00-2:30 PM: Issues in Grammar with Prof. Barnard

Thurs, May 18: 1:00-2:00 PM: The Purpose for Transitions with Prof. Kovach

 

ESOL and Basic Skills Workshops

ESOL Lab in Room AH-206

Wednesday February 15 – 5:00-6:00pm: Preparing for& Taking Tests & In-Class Essays with Prof. David Walsh

Thursday February 16 – 5:00-6:00pm: Writing Professional Emails with Prof. Daniel Craig

Wednesday February 22 – 5:00-6:00pm: Note-Taking Skills with Prof. David Walsh

Thursday March 9 – 5:00-6:00pm: Increasing Academic Vocabulary with Prof. David Walsh

Wednesday, March 22 – 5:00-6:00pm: Revising Paragraphs & Essays with Prof. David Walsh

Thursday, April 6 – 5:00-6:00pm: Revising Paragraphs & Essays with Prof. David Walsh

Wednesday, April 19 – 5:00-6:00pm: Subjects & Subject-Verb Agreement with Prof. David Walsh

Thursday April 27 – 5:00-6:00pm: Using Verb Tenses in Academic Writing with Prof. David Walsh

Wednesday May 10 – 5:00-6:00pm: Capitalization & Commas with Prof. David Walsh