Workshops


 
The English Center offers workshops throughout the semester on a variety of topics to assist language learners in college. We encourage students across the curriculum at S.D. City College to attend.

Spring 2015 Workshops

Tuesday, February 3 – 3:00 to 3:30pm: Writing as a Process with Prof. Barnard (cancelled)

Monday, February 9 – 4:00 to 4:30pm: Issues with Reading Critically with Prof. Brown

Wednesday, February 11 – 5:00 to 6:00pm: Preparing for Tests and In-Class Essays with Prof. Walsh

Thursday, February 12 – 1:00 to 2:00pm: Editing ESL Errors, Part I with Prof. Kovach

Wednesday, February 18 – 4:00 to 4:30pm: Issues with Sentence Structure with Prof. Brown

Thursday, February 19 – 1:00 to 2:00pm: APA Writing Style with Prof. Kovach

Monday, February 23 – 4:00 to 4:30pm: Developing a Paragraph with Prof. Brown

Wednesday, February 25 – 5:00 to 6:00pm: Note-Taking Skills with Prof. Walsh

Thursday, February 26 – 1:00 to 2:00pm: MLA Writing Style with Prof. Kovach

Tuesday, March 3 – 3:00 to 3:30pm: Issues in Grammar with Prof. Barnard

Thursday, March 5 – 1:00 to 2:00pm: Hasty Generalizations about Punctuation with Prof. Kovach

Wednesday, March 11 - 4:00 to 4:30pm: Writing Topic Sentences with Prof. Brown

Thursday, March 12 – 1:00 to 2:00pm: How Punctuation Clarifies Writing with Prof. Kovach

Monday, March 16 – 5:00 to 6:00pm: Revising Essays and Paragraphs with Prof. Walsh

Thursday, March 19 – 1:00 to 2:00pm: Editing ESL Errors, Part II with Prof. Kovach

Wednesday, March 25 - 4:00 to 4:30pm: Issues with Punctuation with Prof. Brown

Thursday, March 26 – 5:00 to 6:00pm: Revising Essays and Paragraphs with Prof. Walsh (cancelled)

Monday, April 6 - 4:00 to 4:30pm: Organizing the Essay with Prof. Brown

Wednesday, April 8 – 5:00 to 6:00pm: It’s All About the Verb with Prof. Walsh

Wednesday, April 15 - 4:00 to 4:30pm: Writing Introductions and Conclusions with Prof. Brown

Tuesday, April 21 – 3:00 to 3:30pm: Developing a Paragraph with Prof. Barnard

Thursday, April 23 – 5:00 to 6:00pm: Increasing Your Vocabulary with Prof. Walsh

Wednesday, April 29 - 4:00 to 4:30pm: The Research Process and Using Sources with Prof. Brown

Tuesday, May 5 – 3:00 to 3:30pm: Revising and Editing with Prof. Barnard

Tuesday, May 5 – 5:00-6:00pm: Preparing for Tests and In-Class Essays with Prof. Walsh