Workshops


The English Center offers workshops throughout the semester on a variety of topics to assist language learners in college. We encourage students across the curriculum at S.D. City College to attend.

   
Fall 2017 Workshops: 

Tuesday, 5 Sept. from 4:00 - 4:30pm - Active Reading for Academia with Prof. Brown

Tuesday, 12 Sept. from 4:00 - 4:30pm - The Parts of Speech and How They Function with Prof. Brown

Tuesday, 19 Sept. from 4:00 - 4:30pm - Paragraph Development with Prof. Brown

Tuesday, 26 Sept. from 4:00 - 4:30pm - Troubleshooting Verbs with Prof. Brown

Thursday, 28 Sept. from 1:00 - 2:00pm: Identifying and Correcting Some Common ESL Writing Errors, Part I with Prof. Kovach

Tuesday, 3 Oct. from 4:00 - 4:30pm - Sentence Structure with Prof. Brown

Thursday, 5 Oct. from 1:00 - 2:00pm: Formatting Papers in Eighth Edition of Modern Language Association (MLA) Style with Prof. Kovach

Thursday, 12 Oct. from 1:30 - 2:00pm: Writing Scholarships and Transfer Essays with Rafee Jajou and the Scholarship Office

Tuesday, 17 Oct. from 4:00 - 4:30pm - Essay Development with Prof. Brown

Thursday, 19 Oct. from 1:00 - 2:00pm: Writing Papers in Sixth Edition of  American Psychological Association (APA) Style with Prof. Kovach

Tuesday, 24 Oct. from 4:00 - 4:30pm - Troubleshooting Pronouns with Prof. Brown

Thursday, 26 Oct. from 1:00 - 2:00pm: The Purpose for Punctuation with Prof. Kovach

Tuesday, 31 Oct. from 4:00 - 4:30pm - Thesis Development with Prof. Brown

Thursday, 2 Nov. from 1:00 - 2:00pm: How to Use Semicolons with Prof. Kovach

Tuesday, 7 Nov. from 4:00 - 4:30pm - Troubleshooting Punctuation with Prof. Brown

Thursday, 9 Nov. from 1:00 - 2:00pm: Identifying and Correcting Some Common ESL Writing Errors, Part II with Prof. Kovach

Tuesday, 14 Nov. from 4:00 - 4:30pm - The Research Process with Prof. Brown

Thursday, 16 Nov. from 1:00 - 2:00pm: How to Format Works-Cited Entries in the Eighth Edition of Modern Language Association Style with Prof. Kovach

Tuesday, 28 Nov. from 4:00 - 4:30pm - Paragraph Development 2 with Prof. Brown

Thursday, 7 Dec. from 1:00 - 2:00pm: How Transitions Improve Coherence with Prof. Kovach

Thursday, 14 Dec. from 1:00 - 2:00pm: Identifying and Correction  Some Common ESL Writing Errors, Part III with Prof. Kovach



Fall 2017

ESOL & Basic Skills Workshops

in

ESOL Lab ~ AH-206

These workshops will be presented by Professor David Walsh and other faculty members who specialize in English language skills and academic writing development.  We will present the following workshops this semester:

1.      Wednesday September 20th – 5:00-6:00pm ~ ESOL Lab AH-206

Preparing for & Taking Tests & In-Class Essays

2.      Thursday September 28th – 3:00-4:00pm ~ ESOL Lab AH-206

Note-Taking Skills

3.      Wednesday October 4th – 5:00-6:00pm~ ESOL Lab AH-206

Increasing Academic Vocabulary

4.      Wednesday, October 11th – 5:00-6:00pm ~ ESOL Lab AH-206

Revising Paragraphs & Essays

5.      Thursday, October 12th – 3:00-4:00pm ~ ESOL Lab AH-206

Revising Paragraphs & Essays

6.      Wednesday, October 18th – 5:00-6:00pm ~ ESOL Lab AH-206

Subjects & Subject-Verb Agreement

7.      Thursday November 2nd – 3:00-4:00pm~ ESOL Lab AH-206

Using Present & Past Verb Tenses in Academic Writing

8.      Thursday November 9th – 3:00-4:00pm~ ESOL Lab AH-206

Using Present Perfect in Academic Writing

9.      Wednesday November 15th – 5:00-6:00pm~ ESOL Lab AH-206

Using Future Tense in Academic Writing

10.    Wednesday November 29th – 5:00-6:00pm~ ESOL Lab AH-206

Using Gerunds & Infinitives in Academic Writing

11.    Wednesday December 6th – 5:00-6:00pm ~ ESOL Lab AH-206

Commas & Capitalization

Important:

          We may offer additional workshops to this schedule. 

      ¬  Any changes to this schedule will be posted in the ESOL Lab AH-206 & English Center L-209.