NEW -- Effective Fall 2019 -- Math Pathways

Click on the following links to see the various math course sequences:

(Note:  These documents provide an overview of the various pathways.  Course sequencing may vary based upon intended major and transfer institution.  For further guidance, please see a counselor.)

Mission Statement

The Mathematics Department at San Diego City College strives to provide a learner-centered environment where students can develop and become practitioners of mathematics.  We emphasize the development of quantitative analysis and critical thinking, preparing students to become life-long scholars, to contribute to the global community as independent and informed thinkers and professionals.

Program Description

Mathematics is the study of numbers, structures, and associated relationships using rigorously defined literal, numerical and operational symbols. Given certain conditions about systems of numbers or other structures, mathematicians derive conclusions based on logical arguments. Basic mathematical skills enable a person to solve numerical problems encountered in daily life, and more advanced skills have numerous applications in the physical, social and life sciences. 

Program Emphasis

The mathematics curriculum includes courses that range from basic skills through differential equations. The basic skills and associate degree level courses provide students with the mathematical preparation necessary for study in other disciplines, as well as for degree and transfer requirements. Successful completion of a mathematics degree will develop competence in mathematics through differential and integral calculus, providing an adequate background for employment in many technological and scientific areas. Furthermore, it provides a firm foundation for students planning to study mathematics, engineering, economics, computer science, physical, or life sciences.

Student Learning Outcomes

Math Developmental Program

Students who complete the program will be able to:

  • Provide examples of on-campus resources for math support.
  • Perform mathematical operations on various structures, including fractions, without the use of technology.
  • Translate word problems into mathematical expressions or equations.
  • Solve equations properly, logically and with written explanations

Math Transfer Program

Students who complete the program will be able to:

  • Analyze, model, and clearly and effectively communicate a solution to a math problem.
  • Apply mathematical skills to solve real-world situations relevant to their major.
  • Analyze functions by several means and incorporate these into the use of problem solving.
  • Apply technology to enhance mathematical thinking and understanding and to solve mathematical problems.

Faculty 

Name Office Office Phone Email
Carlos de la Lama, Chair MS-340B 619.388.3362 cdelalam@sdccd.edu
Nick Slinglend, Co-Chair MS-335 619.388.3178 nslingle@sdccd.edu
Paul Young, Co-Chair MS-338 619.388.3251 pyoung@sdccd.edu
Tracey Kiser, Math Center Coordinator L-208C 619.388.3583 tkiser@sdccd.edu
Guillermo Alvarez MS-332 619.388.3646 gualvare@sdccd.edu
Misael Camarena MS-333 619.388.3637 micamare@sdccd.edu
Brenda Long MS-332 619.388.3185 blong@sdccd.edu
Theresa Gallo MS-337 619.388.3350 tgallo@sdccd.edu
Christopher Godbout MS-333 619.388.3546 cgodbout@sdccd.edu
Lan Hong MS-331 619.388.3351 lhong@sdccd.edu
Jenny Kimm MS-337 619.388.3638 jkimm@sdccd.edu
Drazen Petrovic MS-338 619.338.3252 dpetrovic@sdccd.edu
Manfred Smith MS-335 619.388.3352 msmith@sdccd.edu
Roberto Rubalcaba MS-331 619.388.3639 rrubalca@sdccd.edu
Carolyn Thomas MS-340B 619.388.3363 cthomas@sdccd.edu

Courses

Click here to access catalog descriptions to our courses.

Math 38, 46, 96 Final Exam Review Packets